Page Menu

Early Years Home

Children in the Foundation Stage (Little Learners, Nursery and Reception) follow the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage Framework’, which builds upon early learning that begins at home and helps get your child ready for school as well as preparing them for their future learning.

The EYFS sets the standards that we in school must meet to ensure that your child learns and develops to their full potential and is kept healthy and safe.

Children at Central primary are given opportunities to learn in many different ways in a safe and stimulating environment. They are encouraged to play and explore, to investigate and experience things, to be active and develop their own ideas.

The curriculum is organised into 7 areas of learning.

The 3 prime areas of learning:

  • Personal , social and emotional development
  • Communication and language
  • Physical development


The 4 specific areas of learning:

  • Literacy

We teach phonics through the Jolly Phonics programme. (see website below)

  • Mathematics
  • Understanding of the world of the world
  • Expressive arts and design.


As the children move through the Foundation Stage they work at age related developmental bands in progressive stages e.g. 30-50 months, 40-60 months.  At the end of reception children are assessed in all the areas and their progress shared with parents.

Further information can be found on the following websites.